

# MODELLING AND SIMULATION SOCIETY OF AUSTRALIA AND NEW ZEALAND INC.

## ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

5.30pm, 11 December 2007 Held in conjunction with MODSIM07 University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand

### PRESENT

Tony Jakeman, Susan Cuddy, Tony Weber, Robert Argent, Sergei Schreider, Susan Kelo, Vince Bidwell, John Norton, Barry Croke, Lachlan Newham, Malcolm McPhee, Andrew Western, David Post, Chris Matthews, Freeman Cook, Andrew Frost, Julian Reichl, Jakin Ravalico, Andre Zerger, Geoff Adams, Anthony Dekker, Hendrik Stock, Ric Herbert, Jan Herbert, Bruce Lewis, Ari Jolma, Abdul Hakim, Felix Chan, Michael McAleer, Les Oxley, Don Kulasiri, Tim Peterson, Mick Hartcher, Aroon Parshotam, Roger Cropp, Geoff Carlin, Neil Gribble, Sandhya Samarasinghe, Magdy Mohssen, Dora Marinova, David Mayer, Roger Braddock

### **APOLOGIES**

Christine Lim, David McDonald, Rebecca Letcher

### MINUTES OF THE 2006 AGM

held on 23 November 2006 were approved.

Moved: Lachlan Newham, Seconded David Post **Motion Carried** 

#### **PRESIDENT'S REPORT**

Some key points from the President, Tony Jakeman

- Congratulated the MODSIM 2007 convenors and the MSSANZ office staff (Sue Kelo, Lachlan Newham, Susan Cuddy) for their dedication and excellent work
- Noted the rising number of student registrations at MODSIM, with 95 registered for MODSIM07
- Noted that MODSIM and iEMSS congresses support the journal 'Environmental Modelling and Software' which is now receiving 2 submissions a day - ranked at 1.992 in 2006.
- Requested more synthesis papers to build our modeling community's knowledge base
- Notified the meeting that papers from past proceedings are now available for download from the Society's website, after hard work by Lachlan Newham. Sue Cuddy and Sam Davies
- Some interesting statistics from 1<sup>st</sup> week in December 2007 on high hit rate on MODSIM papers 0
  - 1,624 papers viewed, breakdown being
    - MODSIM99 124
    - MODSIM97 250
    - MODSIM95 132
    - MODSIM05 820
    - MODSIM01 298
  - Most downloaded paper in that week MODSIM05 Models for Mining Equipment 0 Selection Burt, C., L. Caccetta, S. Hill & P. Welgama (32)

#### **EXTRAORDINARY ITEM OF BUSINESS**

Michael McAleer, the Vice President, requested that the meeting accept an extraordinary item of business, which was agreed on a show of hands.

Under the Rules of the Society, the President cannot be nominated as a Fellow. Michael put to the meeting that the Rules be temporarily suspended so that Tony Jakeman could be nominated as a Fellow, in recognition of the amazing work that he has done, and continues to do, for the Society.

Motion: "that Tony Jakeman be elected to a Fellow of the Society."

#### Moved – Michael McAleer, Seconded – Les Oxley Motion Carried unanimously

## **TREASURER'S REPORT**

Lachlan Newham distributed statements of income & expenditures, balance sheet, and auditor's report for the financial year 1 July 2006 – 30 June 2007, and gave a verbal report, highlights being:

- The Society continues to be in a strong financial position in 2006-07 with no liabilities and all funds in secure bank accounts or term deposits.
- Income has come mostly from interest on fixed term deposits and early registrations for MODSIM07.
- Major expenses have been WCMT development and advertising/deposits for MODSIM09.
- The exciting developments for the year have been associated with implementation of secure e-commerce facilities for WCMT, giving the multiple benefit of low merchant rates and less manual processing.

Motion: "that the financial statements be accepted."

Moved – Lachlan Newham, Seconded – Robert Argent Motion Carried

## Awards

The 2007 awards were tabled for the record (2007 student awards will be tabled at 2008 AGM).

#### 2007 Biennial Medallists

- Prof Shahbaz Khan, Charles Sturt University and CSIRO
- Prof Peter Robinson, London School of Economics
- Prof Roger Braddock, Griffith University

#### 2007 Early Career Research Excellence recipients

- Riaz Shareef, Edith Cowan University
- Carl Smith, University of Queensland
- Jenifer Ticehurst, Australian National University
- Steven Tucker, University of Canterbury

### ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

Nominations were received prior to the meeting in accordance with the Constitution. These nominations were endorsed by the meeting.

President: Vice President: Secretary: Treasurer: Public Officer: Committee: Tony Jakeman Michael McAleer Susan Cuddy Lachlan Newham Tim Peterson Les Oxley Andre Zerger Christine Lim David Mayer Tony Weber David Post Dora Marinova Robert Argent

Awards Committee: Tony Jakeman (chair), Dora Marinova, Les Oxley.

## MODSIM 2007 REPORT

A report from convenors, Don Kulasiri and Les Oxley, was tabled. The numbers breakdown was:

- New Zealand 16%
- Australia 54%
- Europe 15%
- Japan 8%
- North America 4%
- Asia (ex-Japan) 3%

The meeting thanked Don and Les for their organisation of MODSIM 07. Don put on record thanks to Les Oxley's team, in particular Liz Duston.

#### **MODSIM 2009 BRIEFING**

MODSIM09 is being run jointly with the IMACS World Congress. Organisers are Bob Anderssen (CSIRO), Roger Braddock (Griffith Uni), Neil Gribble and David Mayer (Qld DPI). The Pacific Rim Maths Conference will be running the week before in UNSW. http://mssanz.org.au/modsim09

Meeting closed 6.25p.

3